Community Awards 2022

Community Awards 2022


The Keighley Community Awards is an annual ceremony, celebrating the unsung heroes of our diverse and multicultural Town and applauding those that seek to the make the lives of others, easier, happier and more fulfilled without expecting anything in return.

On Saturday 19 November, Keighley Town Council hosted the Keighley Community Awards 2022 at the Civic Centre

There were 10 awards to celebrate the people of Keighley who have gone above and beyond in their work, volunteering or sport.

Barry Thorne Sporting Hero of the Year

Sponsored by AB Jetting

Throughout the year this individual will have made an outstanding contribution to local sport over the past 12 months. Made a significant impact to a local club, community, organisation or school and shown a commitment to personal development, teamwork and supporting the development of others.

Winner: Sheik Muhammed Layek Miah

Runner Up: David Seaward

Gary Pedley Community Award of the Year

Sponsored by Oldroyds

This award is developed to honour people who are making significant contributions to their community through their time, actions, talents and dedication. The nominee selected should serve as a role model for compassion and service and be striving to make Keighley a better place. They should have a passion for helping others in their community.

Winner: Emma Gibson

Runner Up: Christine Reynard

Inspiring Young Person of the Year Award

Sponsored by Keighley College

Inspiring Young Person of the Year rewards an individual 25-years-old or younger who has made a significant impact in the local area. This award recognises the young people who are achieving incredible things through their work, whether voluntary or paid, within their local community, club, team, group, project or organisation.

Winner: Ibrahim Nadim

Runner Up: Cameron Tarpy

Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Cosurica

The Lifetime Achievement of the Year Award is presented for distinguished service to the local community and its residents over a significant period of time.

Winner: Mike Smith

Runner Up: Rebecca Boocock-Wilson

Volunteer of the Year Award

Sponsored by Phoenix Fire

Volunteer of the Year Award is presented for a volunteer who has had a significant impact on the people they seek to help. This individual selflessly volunteers their time and energy to organisations that often could not survive without them.

Winner: James Vaughan

Runner Up: Richard Dibbin

Neighbour of the Year Award

Sponsored by the Airedale Shopping Centre

Is your neighbour one in a million? Do they make a difference to your life or the lives of the people in your community? This award is a chance for you to say thank you to a neighbour or group of neighbour’s who go out of their way to help others, someone who shows kindness, compassion and consideration.

Winner: Emma Groves Jones

Runner Up: David Weston

Emergency Services Hero of the Year Award

The Emergency Services Hero of the Year Award recognized and celebrate the achievements of the emergency services in the last year. Emergency Services are all too often the unsung heroes of our community.

Winner: Adam Dykes

Climate Change Champion of the Year

Sponsored by Steve Thorpe and Son Gardening

The Climate Change Champion of the Year Award recognises individuals and/or groups who have made a positive change in addressing climate change in their local community.

Winner: River Worth Friends

Runner Up: Diana Chambers

Teacher of the Year Award

Sponsored by Ace Elevators Northern

The positive impact of an outstanding teacher can have a long-lasting effect on a pupil’s academic, social and emotional development. They inspire and engage children, so they thrive, enjoy learning and achieve well. A teacher is caring, confidence-building, passionate and encouraging. An outstanding teacher instils in his/her pupils a self-belief that they can manage anything they set their minds to. Must have been in a registered education setting for at least 5 years.

Winner: Mohammad Habibur

Runner Up: Mr Coates

Mayor’s Civic Award

This award is selected by the Mayor and recognises a group or individual who has gone above and beyond for their community.

Winner: Dorota Plata

Keighley Town Council community awards. Photo: Bob Smith Photography